On September 1, 2019, the Texas legislature added an amendment to the Texas Penal Code Section 22.012. This amendment designated indecent assault as a Class A misdemeanor. The penalty for committing indecent assault is up to 1 year in prison and a fine upward of $4,000.
Prior to the addition of indecent assault, Texas was 1 of only 6 states without a criminal charge for a sexual assault that didn’t involve rape.
What is indecent assault?
Cases of indecent assault involve an individual taking actions of a sexual nature against someone else without consent. These actions are done with the intent to receive sexual gratification or arousal.
Examples of indecent assault actions include:
- Touching someone’s genitals, anus or breasts
- Exposing (or trying to expose) someone’s genitals
- Causing someone to contact another person’s bodily fluids including:
- Seminal fluid
- Vaginal fluid
Any form of sex crime is a serious charge that needs the assistance of an experienced lawyer. Contact one in your area immediately if you need help.